

COUNCIL MEETING SUMMONS

Members of Fareham Borough Council are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham, on THURSDAY, 12 MAY 2016, commencing at 10.30 am.

The Mayor: Councillor Michael Ford, JP

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Connie Hockley

Councillor Brian Bayford
Councillor Susan Bayford
Councillor Susan Bayford
Councillor Susan Bell
Councillor Pamela Bryant
Councillor Trevor Cartwright, MBE
Councillor Peter Davies
Councillor Seán Woodward
Councillor Susan Bell
Councillor Arthur Mandry
Councillor Roger Price, JP
Councillor Dennis Steadman
Councillor Peter Davies
Councillor Christopher Wood
Councillor Seán Woodward



Also in Attendance

Those Councillors newly elected at the Borough Election on 5 May 2016

CITIZENS OF HONOUR

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, there will be a short service of prayers followed by the presentation of awards.

Citizen of Honour awards will go to Stewart Crowe, Jean Kingdom and Kenneth Moore. The Young Citizen of Honour awards will go to Caitlyn Stream-Lowe and Joseph Tillotson.

The Citizen of Honour Special Achievement award will go to Issac Waddington. The HMS Collingwood award will go to RPO Graham Gregory.

1. Apologies for Absence - morning session

2. Election of Mayor

To elect the Mayor of Fareham for the municipal year 2016/17. (The order of proceedings to be observed is set out in the programme, which will be available at the meeting).

3. Election of Deputy Mayor

To elect the Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2016/17 in accordance with Standing Order 2.2.

4. Mayor's Cadet

To present the Mayor's Cadet for 2016/17 with the badge of service.

5. Adjournment until 2.30pm

The meeting will re-convene in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham.

6. Apologies for absence - afternoon session

7. Minutes (Pages 1 - 6)

To confirm as a correct record the minutes of the Council Meeting held 28 April 2016.

8. Mayor's Announcements

9. Declarations of Interest

To receive any declarations of interest from members in accordance with Standing Orders and the Council's Code of Conduct.

10. Appointment of the Executive

(1) Executive Leader

To elect a member of the Council to be the Executive Leader in accordance

with Standing Order 3.1. Members are reminded that the Council's Constitution provides that the term of office of the Executive Leader shall be 4 years.

(2) Number of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that following the resolution of the Council on 16 December 2010, the Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of the appointment of two or more (but no more than nine) Members to form the Executive.

(3) Election of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that the Executive Leader is responsible for determining the areas of Executive responsibility and for allocating the portfolios to the Executive Members appointed. The Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of the appointments.

(4) Areas of Executive Responsibility

In accordance with Standing Order 5.1, the Executive Leader is invited to determine the separate areas of responsibility to be allocated to the Executive Members for the forthcoming year. Members are reminded that Appendix 5 to Part 1 of the Council's Constitution currently provides for the following areas of responsibility:-

- Health and Housing;
- Leisure and Community;
- Streetscene:
- Public Protection:
- Planning and Development; and
- Policy and Resources.

The Executive Leader is invited to confirm the areas of responsibility for 2016/17. Members are reminded that the allocation of these portfolios to the Executive Member is a matter for the Executive Leader.

11. Appointments of Committees and Allocation of Seats (Pages 7 - 12)

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Council is invited to consider a report on the appointment of committees and the allocation of seats following the nominations of political groups.

12. Standards Arrangements - Appointment of Designated Independent Persons

The Council is reminded that the Localism Act 2011 implemented significant changes to the Standards regime which required the Council to put in place new arrangements to deal with matters of ethics, probity and Members conduct.

At its meeting in June 2012, the Council appointed Mr David Basson and Mrs Mary Kilbride as the Council's two Designated Independent Persons for the purposes of consideration, investigation and hearing of complaints under the Members Code of Conduct as required under section 28(7) of the Localism Act 2011.

Mrs Mary Kilbride has resigned her post as Designated Independent Person and the Council is recommended to confirm Mr David Basson as the Council's Designated Independent Person for the next municipal year.

13. Appointments to Outside Bodies (Pages 13 - 38)

Standing Order 10 requires the Council to make appointments to outside bodies, other than appointments which are required by law to be made by the Executive. Appended to this agenda is a report scheduling the appointments to be made.

14. Executive Leader's Announcements

15. Executive Members' Announcements

16. Presentation of Petitions

To receive any petitions presented by a member of the Council.

Note: any petition so presented will be dealt with in accordance with the Council's petition scheme.

17. Deputations

To receive any deputations of which notice has been given.

18. Questions under Standing Order 17.2

To answer questions pursuant to Standing Order 17.2 for this meeting.

19. Motions under Standing Order 15

Members will be informed, prior to the meeting, of any motion duly notified in accordance with Standing Order 15 but received after print and dispatch of the agenda.

20. Policy Framework

Standing Order 9 requires the Council to establish or confirm the plans and strategies which are to compromise the Council's overall policy framework within which the Executive will operate during the coming year. The Council's Constitution sets out the major plans and strategies reserved to the Council for approval. The Council is therefore invited to confirm the policy framework for 2016/17 as comprising those plans and strategies identified in the table below.

Policy / Strategy	Last adopted or approved by	Date
Sustainable Community Strategy	Council	1 February 2010
Housing Strategy	Council	22 April 2010
Licensing Policy	Council	16 December 2010
Development Plan:		
Fareham Core Strategy	Council	4 August 2011
Fareham Borough Local Plan Review 2000	Planning and Transportation Committee	23 March 2000
Community Safety Strategy	Council	29 May 2014
Corporate Strategy	Council	9 October 2014

P GRIMWOOD Chief Executive Officer

www.fareham.gov.uk 4 May 2016

> For further information please contact: Democratic Services, Civic Offices, Fareham, PO16 7AZ Tel:01329 236100

democraticservices@fareham.gov.uk